Magical Beasts Series – Author Interview!

TourBanner_MagicalBeasts_animatedAbout the Books: 

Covers1-4 (1)Samantha and Jake fight to save their poisoned parents, and instead find themselves in a battle to save the parallel magical world of KiraKu. The two teens discover they must defeat the Evil One—a diabolical master of deception—or their own world will fall too. Samantha must master the mysterious supernatural staff, WhipEye, and find out if she has what it takes to fulfill the prophecy of the true guardian. In a final battle, reminiscent of Lord of the Rings, the two teens will have to risk everything, or lose it all. For Fans of Fantastic Beasts, Percy Jackson, Harry Potter, The Hobbit, and Lord of the Rings.

Winner Outstanding YA Fiction IAN BOTY

 ~ Magical Beasts is now in development for a major motion picture.~
14337-add-to-goodreads-button31

Book Blurb

Guardian The Quest, Book 2, Magical Beasts

A black belt in kung fu, Jake kicks at the woman’s side. She blocks his foot with her forearm. He slides in and chops at her neck.

With little effort she absorbs the hand blow with her arm, grabs his forearm, and jerks him down on top of me. Kneeling on his back, she keeps us immobile.

Her arm is already healing from Biggie’s whip, so like the hyena she’s a Lesser or Great One too. Originals don’t heal like that. That also explains her speed and strength. She and the hyena have to be working for Gorgon.

My vision blurs. I’m suffocating. From ground level I glimpse Biggie shoving the hyena sideways into a tree.

From behind her, the woman pulls out a thick silver band and slaps it onto Jake’s left wrist. She leans over him to stare at me, her slender face hard. “If you don’t find and deliver Drasine to the smugglers by tomorrow night, the silver band will explode and kill your boyfriend. Go to the Smuggler’s Oasis. Kert will tell you what to do.”

Stunned, now I know she’s working with Gorgon. “Forget you.” I punch at her face, but she grabs my wrist. Her eyes harden, and then she looks up.

Somehow the hyena got past Uncle Biggie and it’s charging us. The animal must be working with the woman. Her ride out of here.

The woman releases my wrist.

I croak, “You can’t do this.” I grab at her but her head is rising and my fingers curl around her swinging gold necklace. It breaks off in my hand as she morphs into a huge cheetah.

Author Interview

Which of your Published or Unpublished books is your favorite, and why?

The last three books I finished were so gratifying and fun that I loved rereading them while editing. One was the 4th book in MAGICAL BEASTS; Guardian The Stand, the other was the nonfiction book, SMILE MORE STRESS LESS, and the 3rd was the 4th Jack Steel thriller, STEEL TRAP.

For Guardian The Stand, it was the culmination of 4 books in the series, and the characters had been heading toward a huge showdown and it was finally arriving. Tension, pacing, and the final battles were on a Lord of the Rings scale, and it was very exciting. Also I added a lot of new characters, a few ending up as personal favorites. It also allowed me to show another layer of the parallel world of KiraKu.

SMILE MORE STRESS LESS was a favorite for very different reasons. It is the successful culmination of 50 years of arduous work in self-awareness to understand and end stress, anxiety, fear, and all negative emotions. I wanted to share that success and help others end stress and conflict (inner and outer) in their own life.

Lastly, my 4th Jack Steel book, STEEL TRAP, is definitely one of my best for characters, plot, and surprises!

What is your favorite genre to watch? What is your favorite genre to write? And why are they your favorites?

I’m open to any genre to watch, as long as it has good plotting, dialogue, and characters. I want happy endings, not cynical or depressing stories. Uplifting. I love romance, tension, suspense and adventure. For writing, it’s fantasy, thrillers, and occasional nonfiction (1994, 2020).

What inspires you the most?

Putting my passions into my writing! Nature, wildlife, themes of love and doing what is right all make writing more fulfilling for me.

Once an idea takes root, how long does it take you to write it down? Do you use outlines?

Usually once I decide to write a book, I work on the character arc and plot arc, and start writing. I have 4 series now, all under movie contracts, so I’m not sure where I’m headed, outside of adding a few more books to two of the thriller series. That’s fine for now!

Do you have a favorite author? Or someone whom you would say has influenced your writing style?

Stephen Donaldson/Garth Nix for fantasy, Alistair Maclean for thrillers.

What are your hobbies other than writing?

I’m a water boy! I love to swim, sail, snorkel. I love hiking in nature when the mosquitoes are not in a frenzy. Cooking, friends, family, martial arts, and self-awareness take up the rest of my time.

Do you have a genre that you would never write?

I think I could write a great romance novel, but I’ve never been pulled to do it. Every time I consider it, I move on to something else. However, I do have romance elements in all my fiction, and that is always fun for me as a writer.

About the Author

AuthorPhoto (2)Geoffrey Saign’s love of wildlife led him to write the award-winning fantasy series, Magical Beasts. He often experiences the magic of nature and wildlife while hiking and swimming. He has a degree in biology and has assisted in field research on hummingbirds and humpback whales. Geoff loves to sail big boats, hike, and cook—and he infuses all of his writing with his passion for nature. As a swimmer he considers himself fortunate to live in the Land of 10,000 Lakes, Minnesota. See what he’s up to at https://geoffreysaign.net/magical-beasts

Book 1–FREE April 12-18; Book 2–99c April 12-16

Kindle/KU/Paperback Series page | AudibleBookbub | Website

!!!!GIVEAWAY!!!!

Geoffrey Saign will be awarding a $30 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via Rafflecopter during the tour!

Click Here to Enter!

Advertisement

6 Comments

  1. I’ve enjoyed following the tour and I’m looking forward to checking this one out, thanks for sharing all of the great posts along the way!

    Like

  2. I’m happy to be here! Thank you for hosting! If you read it, let me know how you like it! I always appreciate hearing from readers. I’ll stop back later to respond to any comments or questions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s